It’s commonly identified as the rennet of soybeans, whose production process is similar to the animal milk derivatives one… so much so that it’s also called “vegetable cheese”. There are different consistencies depending on the type of rennet used. Of ancient origins, it is widely used in vegan and vegetarian cuisine for its known protein intake.